4 rules cited at Little People's Learning Tree changed after some of these citations (marked “rule revised”), so the wording that applied at the time may differ from our plain-English explanation.
Medium · Jul 15, 2026 · Inspection
746.1311(e) - Director Annual Training - Additional required topics
CCR reviewed the director's training and found the following required trainings were missing: Emergency preparedness. Controlling the spread of communicable diseases. Administering medication. Food allergies. Understanding building and physical premises safety. Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materials.
In plain English: A center director must complete 30 hours of training each year that fits the ages of the children served, including at least six hours on topics such as child development or guidance and discipline, at least one hour on preventing, recognizing, and reporting child abuse and neglect, and three to six hours on management or staff supervision depending on experience. At least six of the hours must be instructor-led. Official rule text
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Aug 20, 2026
- Correction verified:
- Aug 21, 2026
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Low · Jul 15, 2026 · Inspection
746.1329(c)(1)(B) - Documentation pediatric CPR-1st aid includes renewal date and expiration date
The infant caregiver did not have an official copy of the CPR and First Aid certificate showing the expiration date.
In plain English: The center must keep the original certificate or letter for each employee's annual training in the employee's file, showing the person's name, the date, topic, trainer and trainer's qualifications, and length. Pediatric first aid and CPR certificates must also show an expiration or renewal date, and orientation and pre-service training need a signed, dated statement from the employee and the trainer or a certificate. Official rule text
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Aug 20, 2026
- Correction verified:
- Aug 19, 2026
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium High · Jul 21, 2025 · Inspection
746.4907(a)(1) - Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Six Inches if Equipment 5 Ft or Less
The loose fill on the playgrounds is less than six inches.
In plain English: Loose-fill surfacing under play equipment must be kept at least six inches deep when the highest play surface is five feet or lower, and at least nine inches deep when it is higher. It may not be laid over concrete or asphalt or used indoors, and equipment posts must be marked to show the required depth. Official rule text
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Sep 29, 2025
- Correction verified:
- Sep 15, 2025
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
High · Dec 2, 2024 · Investigation (report)
746.305(a)(6) - Report Situation Placing Children at Risk
The operation reported the incident more than two days after the incident.
In plain English: The center must tell the state licensing office as soon as possible, and within two days, about events such as a child injury that needs medical treatment or hospitalization, an illness that needs hospitalization, a reportable disease, the arrest or criminal charge of a person who needs a background check, or any unusual situation that puts a child at risk, such as a child left in a vehicle or wandering off. A child's death in care must be reported immediately. Official rule text
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Jan 7, 2025
- Correction verified:
- Jan 13, 2025
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
High · Dec 2, 2024 · Investigation (report)
746.2805(3) - Prohibited Punishments - Grabbing and Pulling
The caregiver was seen grabbing and pulling a child by the arm.
In plain English: No child may be treated in a harsh, cruel, or unusual way. Banned methods include physical punishment or threats of it, punishment tied to food, naps, or toilet training, grabbing or pulling a child, yelling at or humiliating a child, and putting a child in a locked or dark room. Official rule text
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Jan 7, 2025
- Correction verified:
- Jan 13, 2025
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium Low · Jan 23, 2024 · Assessment
746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2024, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2023 by January 15, 2024, as required.
Plain-English explanation above
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Jan 25, 2024
- Correction verified:
- Jan 29, 2024
- Technical assistance given:
- No
Show 14 older violations
High · Aug 1, 2023 · Inspection
746.5101(a) - Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months
The operation was found to not have a current fire inspection.
Plain-English explanation above
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Aug 15, 2023
- Correction verified:
- Aug 9, 2023
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium · Jun 23, 2023 · Inspection
746.1613(a) - Reduction of child/caregiver naptime ratio by 50% allowed, If 13 or more children in care, children are 18 mo. or older and other standards met
During the inspection I oberved one caregiver caring for 7 infants engaged in naptime with a SAG of 0-11 months. Ratio is 1:4. The caregiver was over ratio by 3. This was corrected when the diirector sent in another teacher in the classroom.
In plain English: When 13 or more children are in care, the center may reduce the naptime child-to-caregiver ratio by 50% for children 18 months and older, but only if those groups nap together in one central location and the caregivers stay in the napping room or area. Extra employees must be in the building (at least one when one caregiver supervises the nap group, or one for every two nap caregivers, rounded up, when more are needed), and the caregivers must be able to call them without leaving the room. Official rule text
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Jun 23, 2023
- Correction verified:
- Jul 7, 2023
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
High · Jun 23, 2023 · Inspection
746.2401(7) - Basic Requirements for Infants - Never Unsupervised
During the walkthrough I observed a classroom with 7 infants ages 6m, 7m, 8m 11m,12m,14m and 17 months left unsupervised. This was corrected when the caregiver returned to the classroom.
In plain English: Infant care must include regular care by the same caregiver when possible, individual attention such as talking, playing, and holding, comforting infants who are upset, and prompt attention to feeding and diapering. The area must be kept free of objects infants or toddlers could choke on, and an infant may never be left unsupervised. Official rule text
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Jun 23, 2023
- Correction verified:
- Jul 7, 2023
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium High · Dec 16, 2022 · Inspection
746.3701(1) - Safety - Electrical Outlets Covered
Two outlets were uncovered in the nap room. This was corrected at inspection when they covered the outlets.
In plain English: All areas children can reach must be free of hazards. The rule lists examples such as childproof covers on outlets for children under five, heaters and fans mounted out of reach or guarded, poisonous plants kept out of reach, pools, buckets, and other water kept away from children, and TVs anchored so they cannot tip over. Official rule text · rule revised September 2024
- Corrected at inspection:
- Yes
- Correction date:
- Dec 16, 2022
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium High · Dec 16, 2022 · Inspection
746.1601 - Child/ Caregiver Ratio - 13 or More Children
There was one caregiver with 19 two and three year olds during lunch time. The specified age group of the children was 3 years old. This was corrected at inspection when the director joined the room.
In plain English: In centers licensed for 13 or more children, one caregiver may supervise at most 4 infants under 12 months, 5 children 12 to 17 months, 9 children 18 to 23 months, 11 two-year-olds, 15 three-year-olds, 18 four-year-olds, 22 five-year-olds, or 26 children ages 6 to 13. The limit is based on the group's specified age as the rules define it. Official rule text (single-rule page)
- Corrected at inspection:
- Yes
- Correction date:
- Dec 16, 2022
- Technical assistance given:
- No
Medium High · Dec 16, 2022 · Inspection
746.1203(3) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know Children's Names and Ages
A caregiver did not know the ages of the children in care and did not have a list of names and ages posted. This was corrected at inspection when the caregiver wrote and posted the children's ages on their name cards.
In plain English: Caregivers must know and follow the state minimum standards and supervise children at all times. They must not be pulled away by tasks unrelated to caring for children, such as paperwork, janitorial work, or personal use of phones and other devices, and must pass along each child's information and parent instructions to the next shift. Official rule text · rule revised March 2023
- Corrected at inspection:
- Yes
- Correction date:
- Dec 16, 2022
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium · Dec 16, 2022 · Inspection
746.4503(a) - Individual Cot, Bed, or Mat for Each Walking Child Through 4 Years of Age
Three nap mats were torn. One child was sleeping on a work-out mat. This was corrected at inspection when the maps were replaced.
In plain English: Each walking child through age four must have an individual waterproof or washable cot, bed, or mat to sleep or rest on, provided by the center or the parent. Each must be labeled with the child's name (or a number with an assignment map), and floor mats must be marked so the sleeping side can be told apart from the floor side. Official rule text
- Corrected at inspection:
- Yes
- Correction date:
- Dec 16, 2022
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium High · Dec 16, 2022 · Inspection
746.1605 - Child/Caregiver Ratio - 18 Months Difference in Age
A child in the infant room was 21 months older than the youngest child.
In plain English: In a center with 13 or more children in care, infants may be grouped with older children only if the oldest child in the group is no more than 18 months older than the youngest. Centers with 12 or fewer children in care may combine ages under a separate rule. Official rule text · rule revised March 2023
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Dec 16, 2022
- Correction verified:
- Dec 29, 2022
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium High · Dec 8, 2022 · Investigation (report)
746.3505(c) - Diapering Procedures - Use Disposable Gloves
A caregiver did not wash hands after disposing of gloves during diapering procedures.
In plain English: Caregivers must wash their own hands, wash the child's hands after each diaper change, throw away disposable gloves after each change, and sanitize the changing surface after each use (or use a disposable paper liner between back-to-back changes). Soiled diapers must go in covered or sealed containers, soiled clothing must go home in a sealed plastic bag, and caregivers with open wounds or casts or bandages that get in the way of handwashing may not change diapers. Official rule text
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Dec 16, 2022
- Correction verified:
- Dec 29, 2022
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium High · Dec 8, 2022 · Investigation (report)
746.3407 - Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment
A small nail was sticking out of the wall in the 2 year old room. There was a hole in the floor in the nap room.
In plain English: The center must clean, repair, and maintain its building, grounds, and equipment to protect children's health. This includes sanitizing toys that children put in their mouths, keeping garbage out of children's reach, keeping floors, walls, and ceilings clean and in good repair, and labeling cleaning supplies and storing them away from food and out of children's reach. Official rule text
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Dec 30, 2022
- Correction verified:
- Dec 29, 2022
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium High · Aug 2, 2022 · Inspection
746.5305 - Mounting of Fire Extinguishers
The fire extinguisher in the infant room was located on top of a counter and not mounted. NOTE: The deficiency was corrected at inspection.
Official text of rule 746.5305
- Corrected at inspection:
- Yes
- Correction date:
- Aug 2, 2022
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium Low · Feb 25, 2022 · Assessment
746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required
Plain-English explanation above
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Mar 2, 2022
- Correction verified:
- Feb 25, 2022
- Technical assistance given:
- No
Medium · Nov 10, 2021 · Inspection
746.2421(b) - Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days
During review of infants the operation did not have curret feeding instructions for an infant not yet eating table food.
In plain English: For an infant who is not yet eating table food, the center must get written feeding instructions signed and dated by a parent or health-care professional, and must follow them. The center must review and update the instructions with the parent every 30 days until the infant can eat table food. Official rule text
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Nov 17, 2021
- Correction verified:
- Nov 11, 2021
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium Low · Nov 10, 2021 · Inspection
746.501(b)(1) - Operational Policies - Inform Parents That They May Visit Center Anytime During Operating Hours
The operational policies did not inform the parents they are able to visit the center without prior approval.
In plain English: The center must have written policies on a long list of topics, including hours, how children are released, illness and exclusion, medication, medical emergencies, discipline, infant sleep, meals, immunizations, physical activity, parent rights, and its emergency plan. It must also tell parents that the area within 1,000 feet of the center is a gang-free zone. Official rule text · rule revised August 2024
- Corrected at inspection:
- Yes
- Correction date:
- Nov 10, 2021
- Technical assistance given:
- No