Licensed Child Care Center · Houston, TX 77054

Learning Time Academy

8433 ALMEDA RD STE U, Houston, TX 77054 · (713) 748-2020 · State permit no. 1042286

Between Oct 20, 2021 and Oct 20, 2026, the state cited Learning Time Academy for 20 deficiencies — the Texas HHSC term for rule violations — over 9 routine inspections and 7 other visits (investigations or paperwork reviews); 5 were under rules the state weights High. The rule cited most often here is 746.1315 (2 times, most recently May 8, 2026).

The state lists Learning Time Academy as serving infant, toddler, pre-kindergarten, and school-age children, open 06:00 AM to 06:30 PM (Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri). Programs on file: School Age Care, Before School Care, Meals Provided, After School Care, Snacks Provided, Drop-In Care, Part Time Care, Transportation to/from School, Field Trips. Program type: Child Care Program.

Violations by state risk weight

Of the 20 violations at Learning Time Academy, 5 fall under rules Texas weights High and 10 under Medium High; the state sets each rule’s weight by the risk a violation poses to children. How weights work

WeightViolationsShare
High525%
Medium High1050%
Medium210%
Medium Low315%
Low00%

Compared with other Houston licensed child care centers

Learning Time Academy had 20 violations in five years, more than the median of 11 across Houston’s 923 licensed child care centers, and 1.8 per routine inspection against a median of 1.0 — a count of state records, not a rating.

Violations in five years: Learning Time Academy 20, Houston five-year median 11This daycare20Houston median11

Repeat issues

4 rules were cited more than once at Learning Time Academy in the last five years.

RuleTimesWhat the rule covers
746.1315
Medium High
2Each caregiver and the center director must hold a current certificate in pediatric first aid (including rescue breathing and choking) and in pediatric CPR. A new caregiver may work with children before getting the CPR certificate, but at least one employee or caregiver with a current pediatric CPR certificate must be on the premises whenever children are in care. Official rule text
Most recent: May 8, 2026 · first: May 8, 2026
746.605
Medium High
2Before admitting a child, the center must collect set information, including the child's name and birth date, how to reach the parents, an emergency contact for when parents can't be reached, the people allowed to pick up the child, and permission to get emergency medical care. It must also record the child's special care needs, any allergies with a food allergy emergency plan if needed, and permission for transportation, field trips, or water activities if the center offers them. Official rule text · rule revised September 2024
Most recent: May 8, 2026 · first: Jun 20, 2024
746.303
Medium Low
2The center must tell the state in writing within five days when its designee, the head of its governing body, their address, or its director changes. Each year by January 15, it must report online how many employees stopped working there during the previous year. Official rule text
Most recent: Jan 17, 2025 · first: Mar 10, 2022
746.2401
High
2Infant care must include regular care by the same caregiver when possible, individual attention such as talking, playing, and holding, comforting infants who are upset, and prompt attention to feeding and diapering. The area must be kept free of objects infants or toddlers could choke on, and an infant may never be left unsupervised. Official rule text
Most recent: Jun 20, 2024 · first: Jul 20, 2023

Year by year

Routine inspections and violations per year at Learning Time Academy, 2021 to 2026002021132022232023262024322025162026
YearRoutine inspectionsAll state visitsViolations
2021 (from Oct 20)000
2022123
2023243
2024236
2025352
2026126

Every state visit

16 visits on record since Oct 20, 2021, newest first, including visits that found nothing.

DateTypeRules checkedViolations
Jul 7, 2026Assessment11
May 8, 2026Inspection8145
Jul 8, 2025Inspection—None
Jun 11, 2025Inspection—None
Jun 10, 2025Investigation (report)21
May 16, 2025Inspection299None
Jan 17, 2025Assessment11
Jun 28, 2024Inspection3None
Jun 20, 2024Inspection9576
Jan 18, 2024Investigation (report)1None
Jul 31, 2023Inspection2None
Jul 20, 2023Inspection3123
Show 4 earlier visits
DateTypeRules checkedViolations
Jun 16, 2023Investigation (report)1None
May 18, 2023Investigation (report)1None
Aug 9, 2022Inspection8752
Mar 10, 2022Assessment11

All 20 violations, newest first

3 rules cited at Learning Time Academy changed after some of these citations (marked “rule revised”), so the wording that applied at the time may differ from our plain-English explanation.

High · Jul 7, 2026 · Assessment

745.247 - Franchise Tax Delinquent

The operations franchise tax filing status is showing Franchise tax involuntarily ended and is inactive as of 7/7/2026

In plain English: A permit holder must immediately send the state a copy of any government notice saying its corporate privileges have been forfeited or may be forfeited. The state may suspend the permit of a governing body that loses those privileges, and may revoke it if the holder did not forward the notice. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jul 7, 2026
Correction verified:
Jul 21, 2026
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · May 8, 2026 · Inspection

746.605(15) - Required Admission Information-Child's allergies and Completed Food Allergy Plan

Two students with a medically diagnosed allergy does not have an allergy plan available for review.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jul 24, 2026
Correction verified:
Jul 17, 2026
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · May 8, 2026 · Inspection

746.5205(1) - Fire Drill Monthly - Exit in 3 Minutes

For the month of February, March and april of 2026 it took the operation longer that three minutes to exit the building for there fire drills.

In plain English: The center must hold a fire drill every month, and the children must be able to get out of the building within three minutes. It must also hold a severe-weather sheltering drill and a lock-down drill at least four times a year each, and record the date, time, and length of every drill. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
May 8, 2026
Correction verified:
May 28, 2026
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · May 8, 2026 · Inspection

746.1315(a) - Each Caregiver and the Director Must Have Current Training in pediatric first aid with rescue breathing and choking.

one out of eleven staff members certificate of training for CPR expired as of 3/20/2026 and has not been renewed.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
May 22, 2026
Correction verified:
May 28, 2026
Technical assistance given:
No

Medium High · May 8, 2026 · Inspection

746.5103 - Documentation of Fire Inspection

The documentation for the fire inspection report was not available for review.

In plain English: When a fire inspection is required, the center must keep a copy of the most recent fire inspection report, letter, or checklist at the center during operating hours. The report must show the inspection date and findings and include the inspector's name and phone number. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
May 22, 2026
Correction verified:
May 14, 2026
Technical assistance given:
No

Medium High · May 8, 2026 · Inspection

746.1315(b) - Each Caregiver and the Director Must Have Current Training in pediatric CPR

one out of eleven staff members CPR and first aid card expired as of 3/20/2026 and has not been renewed.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
May 22, 2026
Correction verified:
May 28, 2026
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Jun 10, 2025 · Investigation (report)

746.3701(3) - Safety - Air Conditioners, Fans, Heaters Safeguarded

A fan without a safe guard was observed sitting on the floor leaving it assessable to children. This was corrected during the inspection when the director removed the fan from the infant classroom.

In plain English: All areas children can reach must be free of hazards. The rule lists examples such as childproof covers on outlets for children under five, heaters and fans mounted out of reach or guarded, poisonous plants kept out of reach, pools, buckets, and other water kept away from children, and TVs anchored so they cannot tip over. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
Yes
Correction date:
Jun 11, 2025
Technical assistance given:
No

Medium Low · Jan 17, 2025 · Assessment

746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 19, 2025
Correction verified:
Jan 17, 2025
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium · Jun 20, 2024 · Inspection

746.4751(d) - Maintenance Procedures for Active Play - Keep Records for 3 Months

Documentation of the maintenance procedure checklist was not available for review.

In plain English: The director or a designee must check the active play space and equipment every day before play and do a fuller check at least monthly using a written checklist. Hazards or defects found must be removed or repaired promptly, children must be kept off the equipment until then, and inspection and repair records must be kept for at least three months. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jun 28, 2024
Correction verified:
Jun 28, 2024
Technical assistance given:
No

High · Jun 20, 2024 · Inspection

746.2415(b) - AP Cribs - Only Snug Fitting Sheet and Crib Mattress Cover Allowed if Infant Younger than 12 Months of Age

A six month old infant was observed sleeping in a crib with a blanket. This was corrected during inspection when the caregiver removed the blanket.

In plain English: Centers may not use baby walkers, doorway jumpers, accordion gates, toys small enough to swallow or choke on, or bean bags, waterbeds, or foam pads as sleeping equipment for infants. For an infant younger than 12 months, the crib or play yard must be bare except for a tight-fitting sheet and, if used, a thin, tight-fitting mattress cover made for that mattress. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jun 20, 2024
Correction verified:
Jun 28, 2024
Technical assistance given:
Yes
Show 10 older violations

High · Jun 20, 2024 · Inspection

746.2401(6) - Basic Requirements for Infants - Free from Choking Objects That May Cause Choking in Infants or Toddlers

There was a six month old infant was observed laying down in the crib with a pacifier attached to their shirt. This was corrected at inspection, when the caregiver removed the pacifier clip from the infants shirt.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jun 20, 2024
Correction verified:
Jun 28, 2024
Technical assistance given:
Yes

High · Jun 20, 2024 · Inspection

746.501(a)(9) - Written Operational Policies - Safe Sleep for Infants 12 Months and Younger

The operational policies/ parent handbook was missing the safe sleep for infants.

In plain English: The center must have written policies on a long list of topics, including hours, how children are released, illness and exclusion, medication, medical emergencies, discipline, infant sleep, meals, immunizations, physical activity, parent rights, and its emergency plan. It must also tell parents that the area within 1,000 feet of the center is a gang-free zone. Official rule text · rule revised August 2024

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jul 12, 2024
Correction verified:
Jul 22, 2024
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Jun 20, 2024 · Inspection

746.3415(4) - Employee Handwashing After Diapering a Child

A toddler teacher was observed changing a child without gloves, sat the child down on the floor and proceeded to change another child's diaper without washing her hands. This was corrected during the inspection when the caregiver went to wash her hands and the child's hands.

In plain English: Employees must wash their hands at set times, including on arrival, before handling food or medication or feeding a child, after diapering or helping a child use the toilet, after their own toileting, and after wiping noses or handling other bodily fluids. They must also wash after outdoor activities, handling animals or raw food, eating or smoking, using cleaners or chemicals, and removing gloves. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
Yes
Correction date:
Jun 20, 2024
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium Low · Jun 20, 2024 · Inspection

746.605(3) - Required Admission Information - Date of Admission

Six out of seven children were missing a date of admission. This was corrected during the inspection when the director filled in the children's date of admission.

Plain-English explanation above · rule revised September 2024

Corrected at inspection:
Yes
Correction date:
Jun 20, 2024
Technical assistance given:
No

Medium High · Jul 20, 2023 · Inspection

746.3407(8) - Garbage Inaccessible to Children; Maintained in Sanitary Manner

In the kitchen were food is prepared, pest were observed crawling on the wall.

In plain English: The center must clean, repair, and maintain its building, grounds, and equipment to protect children's health. This includes sanitizing toys that children put in their mouths, keeping garbage out of children's reach, keeping floors, walls, and ceilings clean and in good repair, and labeling cleaning supplies and storing them away from food and out of children's reach. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jul 24, 2023
Correction verified:
Jul 31, 2023
Technical assistance given:
No

High · Jul 20, 2023 · Inspection

746.2401(6) - Basic Requirements for Infants - Free from Choking Objects That May Cause Choking in Infants or Toddlers

Three infants were observed asleep with a pacifier clip attached to their shirt. This was corrected at inspection when the caregiver removed the pacifier clip from the infant's shirt.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jul 20, 2023
Correction verified:
Jul 31, 2023
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Jul 20, 2023 · Inspection

746.4907(a)(1) - Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Six Inches if Equipment 5 Ft or Less

In various areas of the playground structure the depth of the loose-fill was less than six inches.

In plain English: Loose-fill surfacing under play equipment must be kept at least six inches deep when the highest play surface is five feet or lower, and at least nine inches deep when it is higher. It may not be laid over concrete or asphalt or used indoors, and equipment posts must be marked to show the required depth. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Aug 14, 2023
Correction verified:
Aug 16, 2023
Technical assistance given:
No

Medium High · Aug 9, 2022 · Inspection

746.1605 - Child/Caregiver Ratio - 18 Months Difference in Age

One infant age 17 months was place in a classroom with a child aged 4 years old.

In plain English: In a center with 13 or more children in care, infants may be grouped with older children only if the oldest child in the group is no more than 18 months older than the youngest. Centers with 12 or fewer children in care may combine ages under a separate rule. Official rule text · rule revised March 2023

Corrected at inspection:
Yes
Correction date:
Aug 9, 2022
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium · Aug 9, 2022 · Inspection

746.4503(a) - Individual Cot, Bed, or Mat for Each Walking Child Through 4 Years of Age

Nap mats used for sleep had rips on the edges

In plain English: Each walking child through age four must have an individual waterproof or washable cot, bed, or mat to sleep or rest on, provided by the center or the parent. Each must be labeled with the child's name (or a number with an assignment map), and floor mats must be marked so the sleeping side can be told apart from the floor side. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Sep 2, 2022
Correction verified:
Aug 30, 2022
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium Low · Mar 10, 2022 · Assessment

746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021by February 22, 2022, as required.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Mar 10, 2022
Correction verified:
Mar 10, 2022
Technical assistance given:
Yes

What to ask on a visit

Based on the kinds of rules cited at Learning Time Academy:

Building, equipment, and products

Enrollment and attendance records

Infant and toddler care

Playgrounds and play equipment

More Houston daycares with state records

More in ZIP 77054 and all of Houston.

Source and corrections

This page reports the state’s records for Learning Time Academy; it is not a rating, a recommendation, or a background check, and may not be used for employment, tenant, credit, or insurance decisions.

Explanations follow the current rules (HHSC minimum standards, revised December 2025).