Licensed Child Care Center · Houston, TX 77029

Dimples A* Cat *A *Me ChildCare & Learning Center

165 ZACHARY ST, Houston, TX 77029 · (713) 678-7865 · State permit no. 400003

Between Oct 20, 2021 and Oct 20, 2026, the state cited Dimples A* Cat *A *Me ChildCare & Learning Center for 35 deficiencies — the Texas HHSC term for rule violations — over 12 routine inspections and 4 other visits (investigations or paperwork reviews); 2 were under rules the state weights High. The rule cited most often here is 746.3701 (5 times, most recently Jan 6, 2025).

The state lists Dimples A* Cat *A *Me ChildCare & Learning Center as serving infant, toddler, pre-kindergarten, and school-age children, open 06:00 AM to 06:00 PM (Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri). Programs on file: School Age Care, Before School Care, Meals Provided, After School Care, Snacks Provided, Transportation to/from School, Field Trips. Program type: Child Care Program.

Violations by state risk weight

Of the 35 violations at Dimples A* Cat *A *Me ChildCare & Learning Center, 2 fall under rules Texas weights High and 22 under Medium High; the state sets each rule’s weight by the risk a violation poses to children. How weights work

WeightViolationsShare
High26%
Medium High2263%
Medium720%
Medium Low411%
Low00%

Compared with other Houston licensed child care centers

Dimples A* Cat *A *Me ChildCare & Learning Center had 35 violations in five years, more than the median of 11 across Houston’s 923 licensed child care centers, and 2.6 per routine inspection against a median of 1.0 — a count of state records, not a rating.

Violations in five years: Dimples A* Cat *A *Me ChildCare & Learning Center 35, Houston five-year median 11This daycare35Houston median11

Repeat issues

7 rules were cited more than once at Dimples A* Cat *A *Me ChildCare & Learning Center in the last five years.

RuleTimesWhat the rule covers
746.3701
Medium High
5All areas children can reach must be free of hazards. The rule lists examples such as childproof covers on outlets for children under five, heaters and fans mounted out of reach or guarded, poisonous plants kept out of reach, pools, buckets, and other water kept away from children, and TVs anchored so they cannot tip over. Official rule text · rule revised September 2024
Most recent: Jan 6, 2025 · first: Feb 15, 2023
746.2207
Medium
3Centers may not use screen time for children under two. For older children, screen time may only add to other activities, not replace them, and it must be tied to planned learning goals, age-appropriate, no more than one hour a day, free of ads and violence, and not used during meals, snacks, naps, or rest times. Official rule text
Most recent: Dec 19, 2025 · first: Jan 6, 2025
746.303
Medium Low
3The center must tell the state in writing within five days when its designee, the head of its governing body, their address, or its director changes. Each year by January 15, it must report online how many employees stopped working there during the previous year. Official rule text
Most recent: Jan 17, 2025 · first: Jan 31, 2023
746.401
Medium High
3The center must keep certain items posted at all times, including its license, the letter or form from its most recent licensing inspection or investigation, its emergency evacuation diagram, each group's activity plan, the daily menu, and a list of current employees' first and last names. It must also post required state notices and phone numbers and a list of children's food allergies that need an emergency plan. Official rule text
Most recent: Jan 6, 2025 · first: Jan 6, 2025
746.4751
Medium High
2The director or a designee must check the active play space and equipment every day before play and do a fuller check at least monthly using a written checklist. Hazards or defects found must be removed or repaired promptly, children must be kept off the equipment until then, and inspection and repair records must be kept for at least three months. Official rule text
Most recent: Jul 1, 2026 · first: Jul 29, 2025
746.5101
Medium High
2The center must have a fire inspection by a state or local fire marshal before its first permit is issued and at least once every 12 months. Centers in public school buildings run by the local school district are exempt, and if no inspection is available the center must get written proof of that from a fire marshal or county judge. Official rule text
Most recent: Mar 26, 2026 · first: Dec 19, 2025
746.1301
Medium High
2New employees must complete orientation within seven days and before being alone with children, and caregivers must complete 24 hours of pre-service training (8 hours before being counted in the ratio and 16 more within 90 days) unless exempt. Caregivers and the director must complete pediatric first aid within 90 days and before being alone with children, and pediatric CPR within 90 days, keep both current, complete annual training every 12 months (24 hours for caregivers, 30 for the director), and take extra yearly training if they transport children under nine or take children to a pool. Official rule text (single-rule page)
Most recent: Jan 6, 2025 · first: Jan 6, 2025

Year by year

Routine inspections and violations per year at Dimples A* Cat *A *Me ChildCare & Learning Center, 2021 to 20260020211020221520231220246252025332026
YearRoutine inspectionsAll state visitsViolations
2021 (from Oct 20)000
2022110
2023125
2024122
20256725
2026343

Every state visit

16 visits on record since Oct 20, 2021, newest first, including visits that found nothing.

DateTypeRules checkedViolations
Jul 1, 2026Inspection3851
Mar 26, 2026Assessment11
Jan 29, 2026Inspection2None
Jan 14, 2026Inspection2211
Dec 19, 2025Inspection22
Aug 22, 2025Inspection2None
Jul 29, 2025Inspection4614
Apr 29, 2025Inspection2222
Jan 29, 2025Inspection6None
Jan 17, 2025Assessment11
Jan 6, 2025Inspection61216
Jan 23, 2024Inspection6621
Show 4 earlier visits
DateTypeRules checkedViolations
Jan 18, 2024Assessment11
Feb 15, 2023Inspection5704
Jan 31, 2023Assessment11
Mar 10, 2022Inspection616None

All 35 violations, newest first

2 rules cited at Dimples A* Cat *A *Me ChildCare & Learning Center changed after some of these citations (marked “rule revised”), so the wording that applied at the time may differ from our plain-English explanation.

Medium High · Jul 1, 2026 · Inspection

746.4751(a) - Maintenance Procedures for Active Play - Inspect Daily

The daily building and grounds checklist was not completed for 2 days in the week of June 8; 4 days for week of June 15; 5 days for week of June 22; and 2 days for week of June 29, 2026.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jul 8, 2026
Correction verified:
Jul 6, 2026
Technical assistance given:
No

Medium High · Mar 26, 2026 · Assessment

746.5101(b) - Annual Fire Inspection - Conducted by Fire Marshal

The last fire inspection was completed on 8/30/2024.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jun 3, 2026
Correction verified:
May 22, 2026
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Jan 14, 2026 · Inspection

746.5613 - One Seat Belt Per Person

Two children were doubled up in a seat belt.

Official text of rule 746.5613

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 14, 2026
Correction verified:
Jan 29, 2026
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Dec 19, 2025 · Inspection

746.5101(b) - Annual Fire Inspection - Conducted by Fire Marshal

The last fire inspection was completed on 8/30/2024.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Mar 19, 2026
Correction verified:
Mar 26, 2026
Technical assistance given:
No

Medium · Dec 19, 2025 · Inspection

746.2207(a) - Screen Time Activities - Not Used for Under Two

A child under 2 years old was watching tv. Note: this was corrected at inspection when the caregiver turned off the tv.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
Yes
Correction date:
Dec 19, 2025
Technical assistance given:
No

Medium High · Jul 29, 2025 · Inspection

746.4813(c) - Measurement of Use Zone for Rotating and Rocking Equipment - No Overlap

Multiple pieces of equipment, rotating and rocking, overlap the use zone of other equipment on the playground. 3 pieces of equipment is less than 6 feet from the perimeter fence. The use zone for 1 rotating equipment on which the child stands measured 6 feet 4 inches from rocking equipment.

Official text of rule 746.4813

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Aug 22, 2025
Correction verified:
Aug 22, 2025
Technical assistance given:
No

Medium High · Jul 29, 2025 · Inspection

746.4751(c) - Maintenance Procedures for Active Play - Hazards Removed or Repaired

A utility line from the pole to the building behind the playground is sagging over the children's play space; measured at 4 feet 3 inches above the ground.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Aug 12, 2025
Correction verified:
Aug 13, 2025
Technical assistance given:
No

Medium High · Jul 29, 2025 · Inspection

746.4901(a) - Active Play Surfacing In Use Zones - Loose Fill or Unitary Surfacing

Loose fill for the composite play structure with a slide measured at 4 inches, short by 2 inches. Loose fill for spinning equipment measured at zero inches, short 6 inches.

In plain English: The area under and around climbing, rocking, spinning, bouncing, or moving equipment, slides, and swings must have loose-fill or unitary (one-piece) cushioning surface. How deep or thick that surface must be depends on the height of the highest play surface on the equipment. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Aug 22, 2025
Correction verified:
Aug 22, 2025
Technical assistance given:
No

Medium · Jul 29, 2025 · Inspection

746.603(a)(3) - Children's Records - Health Statement

1 out of 4 children's records is missing the health statement.

In plain English: The center must keep a record for each enrolled child, including the enrollment agreement, admission information, a health statement from a health-care professional, and immunization records, plus items such as sign-in and sign-out records and medication records when they apply. These records must be kept at the center, available during operating hours, generally until three months after the child's last day. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Aug 12, 2025
Correction verified:
Aug 14, 2025
Technical assistance given:
No

Medium High · Apr 29, 2025 · Inspection

746.3427 - Pest Extermination

Three active ant beds were found on the playground.

Official text of rule 746.3427

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
May 2, 2025
Correction verified:
May 2, 2025
Technical assistance given:
No
Show 25 older violations

Medium High · Apr 29, 2025 · Inspection

746.5533 - 746.5533 carbon monoxide detection system installed

The operation had two non-working carbon monoxide detectors and needs to install one according to manufacturer's instructions.

Official text of rule 746.5533

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
May 2, 2025
Correction verified:
May 4, 2025
Technical assistance given:
No

Medium Low · Jan 17, 2025 · Assessment

746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

It was found that the number of employees who ceased working at the operation in 2024 was not reported through the provider portal by 1/15/25.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 24, 2025
Correction verified:
Feb 6, 2025
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium Low · Jan 6, 2025 · Inspection

746.401(9) - Posting Requirements - List entitled "Current Employees"--sized at least 81/2 X 11 inches, printed legibly, include employee first and last name

During the walkthrough inspection the employee list was not current nor posted.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 20, 2025
Correction verified:
Jan 17, 2025
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium · Jan 6, 2025 · Inspection

746.2207(c)(3) - Screen Time Activities - Not Exceed One Hour Daily

During the inspection time period the children watched television more then an hour.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 6, 2025
Correction verified:
Jan 29, 2025
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium · Jan 6, 2025 · Inspection

746.2207(a) - Screen Time Activities - Not Used for Under Two

During the walkthrough inspection a child under 2 was watching television.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 6, 2025
Correction verified:
Jan 29, 2025
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Jan 6, 2025 · Inspection

746.305(a)(1) - Report Unsafe Facility Occurrence

During the walkthrough a classroom became unsafe to use and licensing was not made aware at inspection.

In plain English: The center must tell the state licensing office as soon as possible, and within two days, about events such as a child injury that needs medical treatment or hospitalization, an illness that needs hospitalization, a reportable disease, the arrest or criminal charge of a person who needs a background check, or any unusual situation that puts a child at risk, such as a child left in a vehicle or wandering off. A child's death in care must be reported immediately. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 20, 2025
Correction verified:
Jan 24, 2025
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Jan 6, 2025 · Inspection

746.3701(5) - Safety - Play Materials and Equipment Safe

During the walkthrough inspection the playground materials have a missing board, protruding nails, and water in sand stand.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 20, 2025
Correction verified:
Jan 29, 2025
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Jan 6, 2025 · Inspection

746.5202(1) - Emergency Preparedness Plan - Evacuation, relocation, and sheltering/lock-down procedures

During the walkthrough inspection the evacuation plan was not posted in all active rooms.

In plain English: The center's written emergency plan must explain how staff will evacuate, relocate, or shelter and lock down children, including children under 24 months and those who need extra help, and how every child will be accounted for. It must also cover how the center will contact authorities and parents, bring each child's emergency contacts and medical authorization, keep caring for children until they are picked up, and reunite them with parents. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 20, 2025
Correction verified:
Jan 17, 2025
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Jan 6, 2025 · Inspection

746.401(4) - Posting Requirements - Emergency and evacuation relocation diagram

During the walkthrough inspection the emergency evacautaion diagram was not posted in all active rooms.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 20, 2025
Correction verified:
Jan 17, 2025
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium · Jan 6, 2025 · Inspection

746.1309(a) - Documented Annual Training Area - 24 Hours Required

During the inspection records reviewed two caregivers did not have the annual 24 hours training.

In plain English: A caregiver's 24 hours of yearly training must fit the ages of the children in their care and cover set topics, including at least six hours on areas such as child development or guidance and discipline, and at least one hour on preventing, recognizing, and reporting child abuse and neglect. At least five of the hours must be instructor-led, and caregivers of children under 24 months must also have one hour on shaken baby syndrome, infant sleep practices and SIDS, and early brain development. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 20, 2025
Correction verified:
Jan 17, 2025
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium · Jan 6, 2025 · Inspection

746.401(5) - Posting Requirements - Activity Plans for each group of children in the child care center

During the walkthrough inspection the required activity plan for each age group was not posted.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 20, 2025
Correction verified:
Jan 17, 2025
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Jan 6, 2025 · Inspection

746.1301(a)(3)(A) - Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and Directors - Pediatric First Aid with Rescue Breathing

During the inspection two of seven staff records had expried first aid trainnings as of 8/1/2024.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 20, 2025
Correction verified:
Jan 17, 2025
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Jan 6, 2025 · Inspection

746.1301(a)(4)(A) - Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and Directors - Pediatric CPR

During the walkthrough inspection seven staff cprtrainings expired as of 8/1/2024.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 20, 2025
Correction verified:
Jan 17, 2025
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Jan 6, 2025 · Inspection

746.4305 - Fenced Outdoor Activity Space

During the inspection walkthrough the operation fence in the play area is not the required height.

In plain English: The outdoor activity space must be enclosed by a fence or wall at least four feet high. Exceptions include programs that only offer after-school care in a public school classroom, programs that only offer alternate care or get-well care, and spaces used only by children five and older. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 20, 2025
Correction verified:
Jan 24, 2025
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Jan 6, 2025 · Inspection

746.2405(1) - Infant Care Area Furnishings and Equipment - Adult-sized Chair

During the walkthrough inspection there was not a rocking chair present in the infant room.

In plain English: The infant area must have an adult-size rocker or chair, an individual crib for each non-walking infant under 12 months, and an individual crib, cot, bed, or waterproof or washable mat for each walking infant or infant 12 months or older. It must also have a hand-washing sink in the diaper-changing area and enough toys to keep infants engaged. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 6, 2025
Correction verified:
Jan 17, 2025
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Jan 6, 2025 · Inspection

746.3701(2) - Safety - 220-Volt Electrical Connections Covered

During the walkthrough inspection all electrical outlets were not all covered.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 20, 2025
Correction verified:
Jan 29, 2025
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Jan 6, 2025 · Inspection

746.3701(3) - Safety - Air Conditioners, Fans, Heaters Safeguarded

During the walkthrough inspection the children have access to the air conditioner outside.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 20, 2025
Correction verified:
Jan 29, 2025
Technical assistance given:
Yes

High · Jan 6, 2025 · Inspection

746.3407(12) - Mark Cleaning Supplies, Toxic Materials; Keep Separate from Food and Inaccessible to Children

During the walkthrough inspection cleaning supplies under the infant changing station and kitchen were seen.

In plain English: The center must clean, repair, and maintain its building, grounds, and equipment to protect children's health. This includes sanitizing toys that children put in their mouths, keeping garbage out of children's reach, keeping floors, walls, and ceilings clean and in good repair, and labeling cleaning supplies and storing them away from food and out of children's reach. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 6, 2025
Correction verified:
Jan 29, 2025
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium · Jan 23, 2024 · Inspection

746.203(2) - Liability Insurance Requirements - Provide Proof of Coverage Annually by Anniversary Date of Issuance

Proof or documentation for liability coverage was not made available during the inspection.

In plain English: Unless it has an acceptable reason not to, the center must carry liability insurance of $300,000 per occurrence of negligence, covering injury to a child on its premises or in its care. It must send proof of coverage to the state each year by the anniversary of its permit. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 30, 2024
Correction verified:
Jan 23, 2024
Technical assistance given:
No

Medium Low · Jan 18, 2024 · Assessment

746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

t was found that the number of employees who ceased working at the operation in 2023 was not reported through the provider portal by 1/15/24.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 20, 2024
Correction verified:
Jan 23, 2024
Technical assistance given:
Yes

High · Feb 15, 2023 · Inspection

746.201(1) - Policies Comply with Rules

The operational policies is missing information on the following sections: Release of children Medication discipline Promotion of physical activity Sunscreen/bug repellent Transportation

In plain English: The permit holder must set and follow policies that meet the state minimum standards, name a qualified director who is responsible on site every day, make sure staff report suspected abuse directly to the state hotline, and keep the number of children in care within the licensed capacity. It must also let parents visit any time during operating hours without prior approval and follow the state child-care licensing law and rules. Official rule text · rule revised March 2023

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Feb 24, 2023
Correction verified:
Feb 23, 2023
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Feb 15, 2023 · Inspection

746.3701(1) - Safety - Electrical Outlets Covered

One toddler room did not have an outlet cover on an outlet. Note: This was corrected at inspection when an outlet cover was placed.

Plain-English explanation above · rule revised September 2024

Corrected at inspection:
Yes
Correction date:
Feb 15, 2023
Technical assistance given:
No

Medium High · Feb 15, 2023 · Inspection

746.3701(9) - Safety - Televisions Anchored to Prevent Tip Over

It was observed that a TV in the toddler room was not mounted. Note: Pictures taken and this was corrected when it was moved out of the classroom.

Plain-English explanation above · rule revised September 2024

Corrected at inspection:
Yes
Correction date:
Feb 15, 2023
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Feb 15, 2023 · Inspection

746.5207(b) - Emergency Evacuation and Relocation Diagram - Posted in Each Room

Two classrooms did not have the exit diagrams. Note: This was placed at inspection and corrected.

In plain English: The center must keep an emergency diagram on file showing its floor plan, two exit paths from each room (unless the room opens straight outside at ground level), the outdoor meeting spot, and the indoor spot for sheltering from severe weather. A copy must be posted near the entrance or exit of every room children use, where children and staff can easily see it. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
Yes
Correction date:
Feb 15, 2023
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium Low · Jan 31, 2023 · Assessment

746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

Operation failed to report the number of employees that left the previous year.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Feb 3, 2023
Correction verified:
Mar 1, 2023
Technical assistance given:
Yes

What to ask on a visit

Based on the kinds of rules cited at Dimples A* Cat *A *Me ChildCare & Learning Center:

Building, equipment, and products

Licensing, postings, and management

Playgrounds and play equipment

Incident reports and notices to the state

More Houston daycares with state records

More in ZIP 77029 and all of Houston.

Source and corrections

This page reports the state’s records for Dimples A* Cat *A *Me ChildCare & Learning Center; it is not a rating, a recommendation, or a background check, and may not be used for employment, tenant, credit, or insurance decisions.

Explanations follow the current rules (HHSC minimum standards, revised December 2025).