8802 W MONTGOMERY RD, Houston, TX 77088 · (281) 820-3332 · State permit no. 535288
Between Oct 20, 2021 and Oct 20, 2026, the state cited Academy of Little Scholars for 21 deficiencies — the Texas HHSC term for rule violations — over 6 routine inspections and 4 other visits (investigations or paperwork reviews); 1 was under rules the state weights High. The rule cited most often here is 746.1309 (4 times, most recently Oct 14, 2025).
The state lists Academy of Little Scholars as serving infant, toddler, pre-kindergarten, and school-age children, open 06:00 AM to 06:00 PM (Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri). Programs on file: School Age Care, Before School Care, Meals Provided, After School Care, Snacks Provided, Transportation to/from School. Program type: Child Care Program.
All 21 violations, newest first
4 rules cited at Academy of Little Scholars changed after some of these citations (marked “rule revised”), so the wording that applied at the time may differ from our plain-English explanation.
Medium Low · Jan 21, 2026 · Assessment
746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 data from January 20, 2026, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.
Plain-English explanation above
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Jan 23, 2026
- Correction verified:
- Jan 27, 2026
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium High · Oct 14, 2025 · Inspection
746.613(b) - Immunization Records, Exceptions, and Exemptions Current
A child's affidavit for exemption for immunization expired on February 28, 2024.
In plain English: Each child from birth through age 14 must meet and keep meeting the state health department's immunization requirements, and the center must keep current immunization records, including any exemptions or exceptions. Required immunizations must be complete by the admission date, unless an exemption is verified by then or a homeless or foster child is admitted provisionally for up to 30 days. Official rule text
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Oct 28, 2025
- Correction verified:
- Oct 28, 2025
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium High · Oct 14, 2025 · Inspection
746.4901(a) - Active Play Surfacing In Use Zones - Loose Fill or Unitary Surfacing
The loose-fill in the playground consists of less than an inch of mulch.
In plain English: The area under and around climbing, rocking, spinning, bouncing, or moving equipment, slides, and swings must have loose-fill or unitary (one-piece) cushioning surface. How deep or thick that surface must be depends on the height of the highest play surface on the equipment. Official rule text
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Oct 31, 2025
- Correction verified:
- Nov 4, 2025
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium · Oct 14, 2025 · Inspection
746.1311(e) - Director Annual Training - Additional required topics
The director s annual training was evaluated from March 2, 2024, to March 2, 2025, and it was found to be missing Emergency preparedness, administering medication, food or an allergic reaction, and Handling and storing training.
Plain-English explanation above
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Oct 28, 2025
- Correction verified:
- Oct 24, 2025
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium High · Oct 14, 2025 · Inspection
746.1311(d) - Director Annual Training - Caring for children under 24 months
The director s annual training was evaluated from March 2, 2024, to March 2, 2025, and it was found to be missing the required training for caring for children under 24 months.
Plain-English explanation above
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Oct 28, 2025
- Correction verified:
- Oct 24, 2025
- Technical assistance given:
- No
Medium · Oct 14, 2025 · Inspection
746.4803 - Measurement of Use Zone for Stationary Equipment
CCR observed stationary equipment positioned less than six feet from the perimeter.
In plain English: The use zone around stationary play equipment (other than slides and soft contained play equipment) must extend at least six feet in every direction from the equipment's edge, and it may not overlap other use zones. Official rule text
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Oct 31, 2025
- Correction verified:
- Nov 4, 2025
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium · Oct 14, 2025 · Inspection
746.1311(c) - Director Annual Training -Required 1 hour in prevention, recognition and reporting of child maltreatment
The director s annual training was evaluated from March 2, 2024, to March 2, 2025, and it was found to be missing child maltreatment training.
Plain-English explanation above
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Oct 28, 2025
- Correction verified:
- Oct 24, 2025
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium · Oct 14, 2025 · Inspection
746.1309(c) - Documented Annual Training - 1 hour in Prevention, Recognition and Reporting of child maltreatment
A caregiver's annual training was evaluated from October 18, 2023, to October 18, 2024, and it was found to be missing child maltreatment training.
Plain-English explanation above
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Oct 28, 2025
- Correction verified:
- Oct 24, 2025
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium · Oct 14, 2025 · Inspection
746.2421(b) - Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days
An infant feeding sheet for the month of October was not available during the inspection.
Plain-English explanation above
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Oct 28, 2025
- Correction verified:
- Nov 4, 2025
- Technical assistance given:
- No
Medium · Oct 14, 2025 · Inspection
746.1309(e) - Documented Annual Training- Required Content
A caregiver's annual training was evaluated from October 18, 2023, to October 18, 2024, and it was found to be missing emergency preparedness training.
Plain-English explanation above
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Oct 28, 2025
- Correction verified:
- Oct 24, 2025
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Show 11 older violations
Medium Low · Jan 17, 2025 · Assessment
746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.
Plain-English explanation above
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Jan 22, 2025
- Correction verified:
- Jan 23, 2025
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium High · Nov 15, 2022 · Inspection
746.1309(d) - Documented Annual Training - Caregivers of Children Under 24 Months Required
One caregiver did not receive training in Shaken Baby Syndrome, Abusive Head Trauma and Understanding Early Childhood Brain Development for the March 2021-March 2022 training year. The caregiver will need to receive make-up training hours that will not count towards the current training year.
Plain-English explanation above · rule revised September 2024
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Nov 29, 2022
- Correction verified:
- Dec 8, 2022
- Technical assistance given:
- No
Medium · Nov 15, 2022 · Inspection
746.1309(e) - Documented Annual Training- Required Content
Two caregivers were lacking training in the following topics: Caregiver A needs training in administering medications, food allergies and handling, storing and disposing of hazardous materials. Caregiver B needs training in handling, storing and disposing of hazardous materials. This will be make-up training hours and will not count towards the current training year.
Plain-English explanation above · rule revised September 2024
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Nov 29, 2022
- Correction verified:
- Dec 8, 2022
- Technical assistance given:
- No
Medium · Nov 15, 2022 · Inspection
746.2421(a) - Written Feeding Instructions - Signed and Dated by Parent or Health-Care Professional
Written feeding instructions were not available for one infant.
Plain-English explanation above
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Nov 22, 2022
- Correction verified:
- Dec 8, 2022
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium High · Nov 15, 2022 · Inspection
746.2431 - Infant Daily Report - Share with Parent
Daily infant reports are not being completed and provided to the parents.
In plain English: By the time an infant is picked up, the center must give the parent a written or electronic report for the day showing when the infant slept, when and how much the infant ate, when diapers were changed, the infant's general mood, and a short summary of activities. Official rule text
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Nov 16, 2022
- Correction verified:
- Dec 8, 2022
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
High · Nov 15, 2022 · Inspection
746.201(1) - Policies Comply with Rules
The operational policies does not include the following information: 1. The benefits of physical activity and outdoor play; the duration of physical activity at your operation, both indoor and outdoor; type of physical activity children will participate in; each setting in which your physical activity program will take place; recommended clothing and footwear; plan for physical activity when the weather prevents outside activities. 2. Instructions on how parents may contact the local Child Care Regulation Office. 3. Safe sleep policy for infants 12 months old and younger. 4. Staff vaccination policy.
In plain English: The permit holder must set and follow policies that meet the state minimum standards, name a qualified director who is responsible on site every day, make sure staff report suspected abuse directly to the state hotline, and keep the number of children in care within the licensed capacity. It must also let parents visit any time during operating hours without prior approval and follow the state child-care licensing law and rules. Official rule text · rule revised March 2023
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Dec 19, 2022
- Correction verified:
- Dec 19, 2022
- Technical assistance given:
- No
Medium High · Nov 15, 2022 · Inspection
746.1301(4)(A) - Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and directors - Pediatric CPR
Of the four personnel records evaluated, two have not completed a valid CPR training course. The caregivers completed a CPR training course on-line.
In plain English: New employees must complete orientation within seven days and before being alone with children, and caregivers must complete 24 hours of pre-service training (8 hours before being counted in the ratio and 16 more within 90 days) unless exempt. Caregivers and the director must complete pediatric first aid within 90 days and before being alone with children, and pediatric CPR within 90 days, keep both current, complete annual training every 12 months (24 hours for caregivers, 30 for the director), and take extra yearly training if they transport children under nine or take children to a pool. Official rule text (single-rule page) · rule revised September 2024
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Nov 22, 2022
- Correction verified:
- Dec 8, 2022
- Technical assistance given:
- No
Medium High · Nov 15, 2022 · Inspection
746.1311(d) - Director Annual Training - Caring for children under 24 months
The director did not receive training in SIDS, Shaken Baby Syndrome, Abusive Head Trauma, Understanding Early Childhood Brain Development for the March 2021-March 2022 training year. This will be make-up training hours and will not count towards the current training year.
Plain-English explanation above · rule revised March 2023
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Nov 29, 2022
- Correction verified:
- Dec 8, 2022
- Technical assistance given:
- No
Medium Low · Mar 2, 2022 · Assessment
746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required
Plain-English explanation above
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Mar 5, 2022
- Correction verified:
- Apr 8, 2022
- Technical assistance given:
- No
Medium High · Jan 4, 2022 · Assessment
746.3401(a) - Annual Sanitation Inspection
There is no documentation showing that health inspection was complete.
Plain-English explanation above
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Jan 18, 2022
- Correction verified:
- Jan 4, 2022
- Technical assistance given:
- No
Medium High · Nov 19, 2021 · Inspection
746.3401(a) - Annual Sanitation Inspection
There is no documentation showing that health inspection was complete.
Plain-English explanation above
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Dec 8, 2021
- Correction verified:
- Jan 4, 2022
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Source and correctionsThis page reports the state’s records for Academy of Little Scholars; it is not a rating, a recommendation, or a background check, and may not be used for employment, tenant, credit, or insurance decisions.
Explanations follow the current rules (HHSC minimum standards, revised December 2025).