Licensed Child Care Home · Houston, TX 77045

Starbright Preschool

Operation name as registered with Texas HHSC, permit no. 1766798.

Between Mar 16, 2023 (the first state visit on record) and Oct 20, 2026, the state cited Starbright Preschool for 8 deficiencies — the Texas HHSC term for rule violations — over 9 routine inspections; 0 were under rules the state weights High. The rule cited most often here is 747.605 (2 times, most recently Mar 19, 2024).

The state lists Starbright Preschool as serving infant, toddler, pre-kindergarten, and school-age children, open 07:00 AM to 06:00 PM (Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri). Programs on file: School Age Care, Before School Care, After School Care, Snacks Provided, Transportation to/from School, Field Trips.

What rules a licensed child care home follows

Licensed child care homes in Texas care for children in the primary caregiver’s own residence, with no more than 12 children present at a time. They follow the Minimum Standards in Chapter 747 and get at least one unannounced state inspection a year. The state lists Starbright Preschool with a capacity of 12.

Violations by state risk weight

Of the 8 violations at Starbright Preschool, 0 fall under rules Texas weights High and 5 under Medium High; the state sets each rule’s weight by the risk a violation poses to children. How weights work

WeightViolationsShare
High00%
Medium High563%
Medium225%
Medium Low113%
Low00%

Compared with other Houston licensed child care homes

Starbright Preschool had 8 violations since Mar 16, 2023, a shorter record than most, the same as the five-year median of 8 across Houston’s 103 licensed child care homes, and 0.9 per routine inspection against a median of 1 — a count of state records, not a rating.

Violations since Mar 16, 2023: Starbright Preschool 8, Houston five-year median 8This daycare8Houston median8

Repeat issues

2 rules were cited more than once at Starbright Preschool since Mar 16, 2023.

RuleTimesWhat the rule covers
747.605
Medium High
2Before admitting a child, the home must collect set information, including the child's name and birth date, how to reach the parents, an emergency contact for when parents can't be reached, the people allowed to pick up the child, and permission to get emergency medical care. It must also record the child's special care needs, any allergies with a food allergy emergency plan if needed, and permission for transportation, field trips, or water activities if the home offers them. Official rule text · rule revised September 2024
Most recent: Mar 19, 2024 · first: Mar 19, 2024
747.501
Medium
2The child-care home must have written policies on set topics, including how children are released, illness and exclusion, medication, medical emergencies, discipline, infant sleep, physical activity, parent rights, and its emergency plan. The policies must also tell parents how to find the state minimum standards, the Texas Abuse and Neglect Hotline, and the HHSC website. Official rule text · rule revised August 2024
Most recent: Mar 16, 2023 · first: Mar 16, 2023

Year by year

Routine inspections and violations per year at Starbright Preschool, 2023 to 2026562023222024102025102026
YearRoutine inspectionsAll state visitsViolations
2023 (from Mar 16)556
2024222
2025110
2026110

Every state visit

9 visits on record since Mar 16, 2023, newest first, including visits that found nothing.

DateTypeRules checkedViolations
Aug 6, 2026Inspection543None
Aug 27, 2025Inspection508None
Sep 5, 2024Inspection550None
Mar 19, 2024Inspection4882
Sep 21, 2023Inspection484None
Aug 1, 2023Inspection4183
Jun 26, 2023Inspection133None
Mar 28, 2023Inspection—None
Mar 16, 2023Inspection10353

All 8 violations, newest first

2 rules cited at Starbright Preschool changed after some of these citations (marked “rule revised”), so the wording that applied at the time may differ from our plain-English explanation.

Medium High · Mar 19, 2024 · Inspection

747.605(6) - Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact

two out of seven children were missing the emergency contact address.

Plain-English explanation above · rule revised September 2024

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Mar 26, 2024
Correction verified:
Apr 11, 2024
Technical assistance given:
No

Medium Low · Mar 19, 2024 · Inspection

747.605(3) - Required Admission Information - Date of Admission

Three out of seven children did not have a date of admission on there 2935 admission form. This was corrected during the inspection when the director filled in the day of admission date for the three children.

Plain-English explanation above · rule revised September 2024

Corrected at inspection:
Yes
Correction date:
Mar 19, 2024
Technical assistance given:
No

Medium High · Aug 1, 2023 · Inspection

747.5337(a)(3) - Electric or Battery Operated CO System-Document Test Date, Battery Installation Date and Staff Name conducting Testing and Installation

The operation did not have a record of carbon monoxide checks maintained separately from smoke detector checks. This was corrected when the director tested the system and recorded it while I was present.

Official text of rule 747.5337

Corrected at inspection:
Yes
Correction date:
Aug 1, 2023
Technical assistance given:
No

Medium High · Aug 1, 2023 · Inspection

747.5107(a) - Inspect Fire Extinguishers Monthly

The operation did not maintain a record of fire extinguisher checks. This was corrected when the director checked the fire extinguisher while I was present and recorded the result.

In plain English: The child-care home must inspect all fire extinguishers every month, record the date, and keep that record at the home. Extinguishers must be serviced as needed and as the manufacturer or the fire marshal requires. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
Yes
Correction date:
Aug 1, 2023
Technical assistance given:
No

Medium High · Aug 1, 2023 · Inspection

747.5105 - Mounting of Fire Extinguishers

The fire extinguisher was mounted with the top approximately six feet from the floor.

In plain English: Fire extinguishers must be mounted on the wall with a hanger or bracket, with the top no higher than five feet and the bottom at least four inches above the floor, unless the fire marshal or manufacturer gives different instructions. They must be readily available for immediate use by household members and caregivers. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Aug 15, 2023
Correction verified:
Aug 14, 2023
Technical assistance given:
No

Medium · Mar 16, 2023 · Inspection

747.501(9) - Written Operational Policies - Procedures for Parental Visits

The operational policies does not state the procedures for parents to visit during hours of operations.

Plain-English explanation above · rule revised August 2024

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Mar 23, 2023
Correction verified:
Mar 22, 2023
Technical assistance given:
No

Medium · Mar 16, 2023 · Inspection

747.501(13) - Written Operational Policies - Procedures for Health Checks

The operation plans to provide daily health checks however, it is not stated in the operational policies.

Plain-English explanation above · rule revised August 2024

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Mar 23, 2023
Correction verified:
Mar 20, 2023
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Mar 16, 2023 · Inspection

747.5003(1) - Emergency Preparedness Plan - Evacuation, Relocation and Sheltering Procedures

The operation's emergency preparedness plan does not state how children 24 months and younger or with limited mobility will be evacuated during an emergency.

In plain English: The home's written emergency plan must explain how children will be evacuated, relocated, or sheltered and locked down, including children under 24 months and those who need extra help, and how every child will be accounted for. It must also cover how the home will contact authorities and parents, bring each child's emergency contacts and medical authorization, keep caring for children until they are picked up, and reunite them with parents. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Mar 23, 2023
Correction verified:
Mar 22, 2023
Technical assistance given:
Yes

What to ask on a visit

Based on the kinds of rules cited at Starbright Preschool:

Enrollment and attendance records

Fire inspections and fire equipment

Policies and communication with parents

Emergency drills and plans

More Houston daycares with state records

More in ZIP 77045 and all of Houston.

Source and corrections

This page reports the state’s records for Starbright Preschool; it is not a rating, a recommendation, or a background check, and may not be used for employment, tenant, credit, or insurance decisions.

Explanations follow the current rules (HHSC minimum standards, revised December 2025).