Licensed Child Care Center · Houston, TX 77017

Rucker Head Start

5201 VINETT AVE, Houston, TX 77017 · (713) 845-7467 · State permit no. 1698103

Between Oct 20, 2021 and Oct 20, 2026, the state cited Rucker Head Start for 9 deficiencies — the Texas HHSC term for rule violations — over 10 routine inspections and 4 other visits (investigations or paperwork reviews); 3 were under rules the state weights High. The rule cited most often here is 746.303 (2 times, most recently Dec 5, 2023).

The state lists Rucker Head Start as serving pre-kindergarten and school-age children, open 08:00 AM to 04:00 PM (Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri). Programs on file: School Age Care, Meals Provided, Snacks Provided. Program type: Child Care Program.

Violations by state risk weight

Of the 9 violations at Rucker Head Start, 3 fall under rules Texas weights High and 3 under Medium High; the state sets each rule’s weight by the risk a violation poses to children. How weights work

WeightViolationsShare
High333%
Medium High333%
Medium222%
Medium Low111%
Low00%

Compared with other Houston licensed child care centers

Rucker Head Start had 9 violations in five years, fewer than the median of 11 across Houston’s 923 licensed child care centers, and 0.5 per routine inspection against a median of 1.0 — a count of state records, not a rating.

Violations in five years: Rucker Head Start 9, Houston five-year median 11This daycare9Houston median11

Repeat issues

1 rule was cited more than once at Rucker Head Start in the last five years.

RuleTimesWhat the rule covers
746.303
Medium Low
2The center must tell the state in writing within five days when its designee, the head of its governing body, their address, or its director changes. Each year by January 15, it must report online how many employees stopped working there during the previous year. Official rule text
Most recent: Dec 5, 2023 · first: Feb 25, 2022

Year by year

Routine inspections and violations per year at Rucker Head Start, 2021 to 2026112021322022112023352024202025002026
YearRoutine inspectionsAll state visitsViolations
2021 (from Oct 20)121
2022352
2023111
2024345
2025220
2026000

Every state visit

14 visits on record since Oct 20, 2021, newest first, including visits that found nothing.

DateTypeRules checkedViolations
Nov 10, 2025Inspection51None
Nov 7, 2025Inspection550None
Nov 12, 2024Inspection6682
Aug 29, 2024Inspection—None
Aug 16, 2024Investigation (report)63
Feb 13, 2024Inspection152None
Dec 5, 2023Inspection5961
Dec 20, 2022Inspection—None
Dec 9, 2022Investigation (report)1None
Dec 9, 2022Inspection7921
Aug 2, 2022Inspection—None
Feb 25, 2022Assessment11
Show 2 earlier visits
DateTypeRules checkedViolations
Dec 13, 2021Inspection5031
Dec 9, 2021Investigation (report)1None

All 9 violations, newest first

One rule cited at Rucker Head Start changed after some of these citations (marked “rule revised”), so the wording that applied at the time may differ from our plain-English explanation.

Medium High · Nov 12, 2024 · Inspection

746.1301(a)(4)(A) - Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and Directors - Pediatric CPR

It was found that 4 employees did not have valid CPR/first aid.

In plain English: New employees must complete orientation within seven days and before being alone with children, and caregivers must complete 24 hours of pre-service training (8 hours before being counted in the ratio and 16 more within 90 days) unless exempt. Caregivers and the director must complete pediatric first aid within 90 days and before being alone with children, and pediatric CPR within 90 days, keep both current, complete annual training every 12 months (24 hours for caregivers, 30 for the director), and take extra yearly training if they transport children under nine or take children to a pool. Official rule text (single-rule page)

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Dec 20, 2024
Correction verified:
Dec 18, 2024
Technical assistance given:
No

High · Nov 12, 2024 · Inspection

745.635(2) - AP Background check determination - If ineligible then you must immediately remove subject from operation and confirm to CBCU receipt of notice letter

A caregiver was present at the operation with an ineligible background check.

In plain English: If the state's background check unit finds a person ineligible, the operation must immediately remove that person from the operation and confirm it received the notice. If the person is eligible or provisionally eligible with conditions, the operation must limit the person's duties to follow those conditions. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Nov 12, 2024
Correction verified:
Nov 13, 2024
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium · Aug 16, 2024 · Investigation (report)

746.701(5) - Licensing Incident/Illness Report Form - Situations Placing Children at Risk

An incident report was not on record or provided for review during the investigation.

In plain English: The center must fill out the state's Incident/Illness Report form (or one with the same information) when a child has an injury needing medical treatment or hospitalization, an illness needing hospitalization, or an emergency allergic reaction that required a stock epinephrine auto-injector not prescribed to the child. It must also fill one out when a child or employee gets a reportable disease, or when any unusual situation put a child at risk, such as a child left in a vehicle or wandering off. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Oct 11, 2024
Correction verified:
Oct 25, 2024
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium · Aug 16, 2024 · Investigation (report)

746.707 - Incident/Illness Report Form Shared with Parent

Based on the information found during the investigation, there was sufficient evidence that an incident report was not shared with the parent.

In plain English: When the center fills out an incident or illness report for a child, it must give the parent a copy and get the parent's signature showing they reviewed or received it within 48 hours of the incident. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Oct 11, 2024
Correction verified:
Oct 25, 2024
Technical assistance given:
Yes

High · Aug 16, 2024 · Investigation (report)

746.305(a)(6) - Report Situation Placing Children at Risk

An incident in which a child was placed at risk was not reported to Childcare Licensing as required.

In plain English: The center must tell the state licensing office as soon as possible, and within two days, about events such as a child injury that needs medical treatment or hospitalization, an illness that needs hospitalization, a reportable disease, the arrest or criminal charge of a person who needs a background check, or any unusual situation that puts a child at risk, such as a child left in a vehicle or wandering off. A child's death in care must be reported immediately. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Oct 11, 2024
Correction verified:
Oct 25, 2024
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Dec 5, 2023 · Inspection

746.303(a)(4) - Report Change in Director

The director on record with licensing is no longer the director for the operation. The director on record ceased being the director in August 2023. There is a new director for the operation that licensing was not notified about. The new director took over director responsibilites in August 2023.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Dec 12, 2023
Correction verified:
Dec 6, 2023
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Dec 9, 2022 · Inspection

746.3701(1) - Safety - Electrical Outlets Covered

In Room 32 there were electrical outlets accessible to the children that were not covered. Note: This was corrected during the inspection.

In plain English: All areas children can reach must be free of hazards. The rule lists examples such as childproof covers on outlets for children under five, heaters and fans mounted out of reach or guarded, poisonous plants kept out of reach, pools, buckets, and other water kept away from children, and TVs anchored so they cannot tip over. Official rule text · rule revised September 2024

Corrected at inspection:
Yes
Correction date:
Dec 9, 2022
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium Low · Feb 25, 2022 · Assessment

746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Mar 1, 2022
Correction verified:
Feb 25, 2022
Technical assistance given:
No

High · Dec 13, 2021 · Inspection

745.621(b)(1)(A) - AP Renewal background checks submitted -No later than 5 yrs from date last submitted subjects initial or renewal fingerprint-based criminal hist check

One caregiver does not have renewed background check. Became inactive 8.23.2021

In plain English: An operation must request a background check when it applies for a permit, hires someone, contracts with someone who needs a check, has a resident age 14 or older move in or a resident who is about to turn or has just turned 14, or learns of anyone else who needs a check. Checks must be renewed within five years for fingerprint-based checks or two years for name-based checks, and also when the person moves to another state or takes a role that requires fingerprints. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Dec 20, 2021
Correction verified:
Jan 3, 2022
Technical assistance given:
Yes

What to ask on a visit

Based on the kinds of rules cited at Rucker Head Start:

Incident reports and notices to the state

Background checks

Building, equipment, and products

Policies and communication with parents

More Houston daycares with state records

More in ZIP 77017 and all of Houston.

Source and corrections

This page reports the state’s records for Rucker Head Start; it is not a rating, a recommendation, or a background check, and may not be used for employment, tenant, credit, or insurance decisions.

Explanations follow the current rules (HHSC minimum standards, revised December 2025).