Licensed Child Care Center · Houston, TX 77004

Parent Child Learning Lab

3100 CLEBURNE MITCHELL ANX, Houston, TX 77004 · (713) 313-7897 · State permit no. 520768

Between Oct 20, 2021 and Oct 20, 2026, the state cited Parent Child Learning Lab for 8 deficiencies — the Texas HHSC term for rule violations — over 12 routine inspections and 5 other visits (investigations or paperwork reviews); 3 were under rules the state weights High. The rule cited most often here is 746.303 (2 times, most recently Jan 16, 2025).

The state lists Parent Child Learning Lab as serving infant, toddler, and pre-kindergarten children, open 07:30 AM to 05:30 PM (Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri). Program type: Child Care Program.

Violations by state risk weight

Of the 8 violations at Parent Child Learning Lab, 3 fall under rules Texas weights High and 3 under Medium High; the state sets each rule’s weight by the risk a violation poses to children. How weights work

WeightViolationsShare
High338%
Medium High338%
Medium00%
Medium Low225%
Low00%

Compared with other Houston licensed child care centers

Parent Child Learning Lab had 8 violations in five years, fewer than the median of 11 across Houston’s 923 licensed child care centers, and 0.2 per routine inspection against a median of 1.0 — a count of state records, not a rating.

Violations in five years: Parent Child Learning Lab 8, Houston five-year median 11This daycare8Houston median11

Repeat issues

2 rules were cited more than once at Parent Child Learning Lab in the last five years.

RuleTimesWhat the rule covers
746.303
Medium Low
2The center must tell the state in writing within five days when its designee, the head of its governing body, their address, or its director changes. Each year by January 15, it must report online how many employees stopped working there during the previous year. Official rule text
Most recent: Jan 16, 2025 · first: Jan 18, 2024
746.1301
Medium High
2New employees must complete orientation within seven days and before being alone with children, and caregivers must complete 24 hours of pre-service training (8 hours before being counted in the ratio and 16 more within 90 days) unless exempt. Caregivers and the director must complete pediatric first aid within 90 days and before being alone with children, and pediatric CPR within 90 days, keep both current, complete annual training every 12 months (24 hours for caregivers, 30 for the director), and take extra yearly training if they transport children under nine or take children to a pool. Official rule text (single-rule page) · rule revised September 2024
Most recent: Jul 18, 2023 · first: Jul 18, 2023

Year by year

Routine inspections and violations per year at Parent Child Learning Lab, 2021 to 2026002021102022232023212024542025202026
YearRoutine inspectionsAll state visitsViolations
2021 (from Oct 20)000
2022110
2023233
2024231
2025584
2026220

Every state visit

17 visits on record since Oct 20, 2021, newest first, including visits that found nothing.

DateTypeRules checkedViolations
Oct 9, 2026Inspection—None
Apr 30, 2026Inspection256None
Oct 7, 2025Inspection1None
Sep 5, 2025Inspection—None
Sep 4, 2025Investigation (self-report)41
Jul 24, 2025Inspection1None
Jun 20, 2025Inspection—None
Jun 16, 2025Investigation (report)22
May 15, 2025Inspection1020None
Jan 16, 2025Assessment11
Jul 2, 2024Inspection254None
Jan 31, 2024Inspection1None
Show 5 earlier visits
DateTypeRules checkedViolations
Jan 18, 2024Assessment11
Dec 12, 2023Inspection—None
Dec 5, 2023Investigation (report)11
Jul 18, 2023Inspection9972
Jul 26, 2022Inspection243None

All 8 violations, newest first

One rule cited at Parent Child Learning Lab changed after some of these citations (marked “rule revised”), so the wording that applied at the time may differ from our plain-English explanation.

High · Sep 4, 2025 · Investigation (report)

746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity

Based on the preponderance of information gathered during the investigation, there is sufficient evidence to support a child was left unsupervised on the playground.

In plain English: Each caregiver must know which children they are responsible for, how many there are, and each child's name and age. The caregiver must stay close enough to see or hear what each child is doing, as the situation calls for, and be able to step in when needed. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Sep 30, 2025
Correction verified:
Oct 7, 2025
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Jun 16, 2025 · Investigation (report)

746.1203(3)(D) - Personal use of electronic devices, such as cell phones, MP3 players, tablets, and video games

Based on the preponderance of evidence gathered during the investigation there is sufficient evidence to support caregiver using cell phone while supervising children.

In plain English: Caregivers must know and follow the state minimum standards and supervise children at all times. They must not be pulled away by tasks unrelated to caring for children, such as paperwork, janitorial work, or personal use of phones and other devices, and must pass along each child's information and parent instructions to the next shift. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jul 14, 2025
Correction verified:
Jul 24, 2025
Technical assistance given:
No

High · Jun 16, 2025 · Investigation (report)

746.2805(3) - Prohibited Punishments - Grabbing and Pulling

Based on the preponderance of information gathered during the investigation, there is sufficient evidence to support caregiver grabbing and pulling on a child in care.

In plain English: No child may be treated in a harsh, cruel, or unusual way. Banned methods include physical punishment or threats of it, punishment tied to food, naps, or toilet training, grabbing or pulling a child, yelling at or humiliating a child, and putting a child in a locked or dark room. Official rule text

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jul 14, 2025
Correction verified:
Jul 24, 2025
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium Low · Jan 16, 2025 · Assessment

746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 18, 2025
Correction verified:
Jan 23, 2025
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium Low · Jan 18, 2024 · Assessment

746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2023 by January 15, 2023, as required.

Plain-English explanation above

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 20, 2024
Correction verified:
Jan 18, 2024
Technical assistance given:
Yes

High · Dec 5, 2023 · Investigation (report)

746.4101 - Release of Children

Based on the information gathered a child was not released to a parent.

Official text of rule 746.4101

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Jan 16, 2024
Correction verified:
Jan 31, 2024
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Jul 18, 2023 · Inspection

746.1301(a)(4)(A) - Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and Directors - Pediatric CPR

Five staff records reviewed had expired CPR trainings.

Plain-English explanation above · rule revised September 2024

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Aug 3, 2023
Correction verified:
Jul 31, 2023
Technical assistance given:
Yes

Medium High · Jul 18, 2023 · Inspection

746.1301(a)(3)(A) - Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and Directors - Pediatric First Aid with Rescue Breathing

Five staff files reviewed did not have current First Aid training. The trainings were observed expired .

Plain-English explanation above · rule revised September 2024

Corrected at inspection:
No
Correction date:
Aug 3, 2023
Correction verified:
Jul 31, 2023
Technical assistance given:
No

What to ask on a visit

Based on the kinds of rules cited at Parent Child Learning Lab:

Incident reports and notices to the state

Supervision and caregiver duties

Staff training and certifications

Discipline and guidance

More Houston daycares with state records

More in ZIP 77004 and all of Houston.

Source and corrections

This page reports the state’s records for Parent Child Learning Lab; it is not a rating, a recommendation, or a background check, and may not be used for employment, tenant, credit, or insurance decisions.

Explanations follow the current rules (HHSC minimum standards, revised December 2025).