712 E TIDWELL RD STE J, Houston, TX 77022 · (713) 695-8994 · State permit no. 854203
Between Oct 20, 2021 and Oct 20, 2026, the state cited Bright Stars Academy for 10 deficiencies — the Texas HHSC term for rule violations — over 10 routine inspections and 4 other visits (investigations or paperwork reviews); 2 were under rules the state weights High. The rule cited most often here is 746.1205 (2 times, most recently Jul 17, 2026).
The state lists Bright Stars Academy as serving infant, toddler, pre-kindergarten, and school-age children, open 06:00 AM to 06:00 PM (Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri). Programs on file: School Age Care, Before School Care, Accredited, Meals Provided, After School Care, Snacks Provided, Part Time Care, Transportation to/from School, Field Trips. Program type: Child Care Program.
All 10 violations, newest first
One rule cited at Bright Stars Academy changed after some of these citations (marked “rule revised”), so the wording that applied at the time may differ from our plain-English explanation.
Medium High · Jul 17, 2026 · Inspection
746.605(6) - Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact
Four of the reviewed children files did not have a completed emergency contact address.
In plain English: Before admitting a child, the center must collect set information, including the child's name and birth date, how to reach the parents, an emergency contact for when parents can't be reached, the people allowed to pick up the child, and permission to get emergency medical care. It must also record the child's special care needs, any allergies with a food allergy emergency plan if needed, and permission for transportation, field trips, or water activities if the center offers them. Official rule text
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Jul 31, 2026
- Correction verified:
- Jul 21, 2026
- Technical assistance given:
- No
Medium High · Jul 17, 2026 · Inspection
746.1315(b) - Each Caregiver and the Director Must Have Current Training in pediatric CPR
A caregiver had a CPR certificate that expired on 5.2026. Two caregivers did not have a current CPR certificate.
Plain-English explanation above
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Jul 31, 2026
- Correction verified:
- Aug 1, 2026
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
High · Jul 17, 2026 · Inspection
746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity
A classroom was left unsupervised when the sole caregiver in the classroom left the classroom to open the door of the operation and to transfer a child to another classroom. Another classroom was left unsupervised when the caregiver left the classroom to retrieve a sign in sheet log.
Plain-English explanation above
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Jul 31, 2026
- Correction verified:
- Aug 14, 2026
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium High · Jul 17, 2026 · Inspection
746.3407 - Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment
A pole on a table in the outdoor play area was cracked with a hole. The padding in the outdoor play area was torn with exposed padding.
In plain English: The center must clean, repair, and maintain its building, grounds, and equipment to protect children's health. This includes sanitizing toys that children put in their mouths, keeping garbage out of children's reach, keeping floors, walls, and ceilings clean and in good repair, and labeling cleaning supplies and storing them away from food and out of children's reach. Official rule text
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Jul 31, 2026
- Correction verified:
- Jul 21, 2026
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium Low · Jan 21, 2025 · Assessment
746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data from January 17, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.
Plain-English explanation above
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Jan 23, 2025
- Correction verified:
- Jan 23, 2025
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium · Jul 24, 2024 · Inspection
746.1309(e) - Documented Annual Training- Required Content
The infant caregiver annual training for the month of 9/21/22-09/21/23 is missing the following required training. Understanding building and physical premises safety Administering medication. The after-school caregiver annual training for the months of 9/7/22-9/7/23 is missing the following required training. Understanding building and physical premises safety Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materials. Make-up training will not count towards the current training year.
In plain English: A caregiver's 24 hours of yearly training must fit the ages of the children in their care and cover set topics, including at least six hours on areas such as child development or guidance and discipline, and at least one hour on preventing, recognizing, and reporting child abuse and neglect. At least five of the hours must be instructor-led, and caregivers of children under 24 months must also have one hour on shaken baby syndrome, infant sleep practices and SIDS, and early brain development. Official rule text · rule revised September 2024
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Aug 7, 2024
- Correction verified:
- Aug 2, 2024
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium · Jul 24, 2024 · Inspection
746.1311(e) - Director Annual Training - Additional required topics
The director's annual training for the month of 0ct 2022-Oct 2023 is missing the following required training. Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous. Understanding building and physical premises safety. Administering medication. Make-up training will not count towards the current training year.
In plain English: A center director must complete 30 hours of training each year that fits the ages of the children served, including at least six hours on topics such as child development or guidance and discipline, at least one hour on preventing, recognizing, and reporting child abuse and neglect, and three to six hours on management or staff supervision depending on experience. At least six of the hours must be instructor-led. Official rule text
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Aug 7, 2024
- Correction verified:
- Aug 2, 2024
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium High · Jul 24, 2024 · Inspection
746.1315(a) - Each Caregiver and the Director Must Have Current Training in pediatric first aid with rescue breathing and choking.
The directorand three caregivers are missing their CPR and First-Aid training.
Plain-English explanation above
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Aug 7, 2024
- Correction verified:
- Aug 2, 2024
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Medium Low · Jan 19, 2024 · Assessment
746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2024, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2023 by January 15, 2024, as required.
Plain-English explanation above
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Jan 22, 2024
- Correction verified:
- Jan 22, 2024
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
High · Apr 3, 2023 · Inspection
746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity
The caregiver walked out the classroom and left five children unattended.
Plain-English explanation above
- Corrected at inspection:
- No
- Correction date:
- Apr 3, 2023
- Correction verified:
- Apr 13, 2023
- Technical assistance given:
- Yes
Source and correctionsThis page reports the state’s records for Bright Stars Academy; it is not a rating, a recommendation, or a background check, and may not be used for employment, tenant, credit, or insurance decisions.
Explanations follow the current rules (HHSC minimum standards, revised December 2025).